05 Judge-Bench for Port City Commission Bill

05 Judge-Bench to consider petition challenging Port City Commission Bill

by Zulfick Farzan 15-04-2021 | 2:21 PM

Colombo (News 1st); A Five judge bench of the Supreme Court was appointed to consider the petition filed challenging the Colombo Port City Economic Commission Bill.

The five-judge bench will include Chief Justice Jayantha Jayasuriya, Justice Buwaneka Aluvihare, Justice Priyantha Jayawardena, Justice Murdhu Fernando, and Justice Janak De Silva. The petition will be called up for consideration on the 19th of April 2021. A special petition was filed with the Supreme Court on Thursday (15) challenging the Colombo Port City Economic Commission Bill which was presented to parliament by the government of Sri Lanka. The application was by Engineer Kapila Renuka Perera, the Chairman of the Association of Information Technology Professionals (AITP). The petition notes the passage of the Colombo Port City Economic Commission Bill would threaten Sri Lanka's Economy and National Security and therefore, requested the Supreme Court to issue an order that is should be passed by a 2/3 majority in Parliament or by a public referendum. The petitioner informed the Supreme Court that the Colombo Port City Economic Commission Bill permits the transfer, sale, and lease of property within the Colombo Port City to another party, while it also has the power to permit another party to approve the VISA of those employed in the Colombo Port City. Engineer Kapila Renuka Perera pointed out allowing the country's financial controls, which are vested with the Parliament, to be given to another party and granting special tax relief threatens Sri Lanka's economy as well as National Security.