8 provincial schools declared as national schools

Eight provincial schools upgraded to national school status

by Staff Writer 14-10-2019 | 4:53 PM
COLOMBO(News 1st) - Eight provincial schools were declared as national schools in the country, raising the total number of national schools to 370. These schools are: Saranath Maha Vidyalaya, Kuliyapitiya Vilayaya Central College, Aralaganvila Thopawewa Maha Vidyalaya, Polonnaruwa Divulankadawala Central College Bakamuna Mahasen Central College Polonnaruwa Muslim Central College Uhana Maha Vidyalaya, Ampara Henegama Madhya Maha Vidyalaya The Education Ministry declared that these schools met the requirements to be established as national schools. Any academic or non-academic staffer in these schools who are in disagreement with this decision will be able to join the provincial public service workforce after a service period of three years.