Parliament adopts motion on privilege issues

Parliament adopts motion to direct privilege issues to AG

by Staff Writer 21-03-2023 | 4:53 PM

COLOMBO (News 1st); The motion to direct the recommendations of the Select Committee, that was appointed to probe the violation of privileges of MPs & Parliament, to the Attorney General, was adopted following a vote in Parliament.

When the ruling faction attempted to adopt the motion, Chief Opposition Whip Lakshman Kiriella called for a vote.

75 votes were received in favor of the motion, and 43 votes were cast against it.

The motion was thus adopted by a majority of 32 votes.

The Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna, United National Party, Ceylon Workers Congress voted in favor.

The Samagi Jana Balavegaya, Jathika Jana Balavegaya, Freedom People's Congress, and the Uttara Lanka Sabhagaya voted against it.

The Tamil National Alliance, Tamil National People's Front, and MP C. Vigneswaran were not in parliament during the vote.