Statements of 3 MPs recorded

Statements of 3 MPs recorded, regarding alleged assault on MP Gunathilaka Rajapaksha

by Staff Writer 08-06-2024 | 4:02 PM

COLOMBO (News 1st); Statements of 3 Members of Parliament have been recorded regarding the alleged assault on MP Gunathilaka Rajapaksha.

Police say that the relevant statements were recorded at the Parliament complex.

Accordingly, statements have been obtained from MPs Sahan Pradeep, Madhura Withanage and Lalith Warnakumara.

Police say that they will immediately report the to the court on the statements obtained.

Police say that however, they have not yet recorded a statement from Mahindananda Aluthgamage, who is said to have carried out the attack.

The Fort Police station received a complaint that the assault took place after a meeting held at the President's office on Monday evening.

The complaint stated that MP Gunathilaka Rajapakse's leg was broken due to an assault carried out by former minister Mahindananda Aluthgamage.

Gunathilaka Rajapakse, who was allegedly attacked, is currently receiving treatment at the Army Hospital.