Wanindu & Inoka in ICC T20 Team of the Year 2022

Sri Lanka's Wanindu & Inoka named in ICC Men's & Women's T20 Team of the Year 2022

by Zulfick Farzan 23-1-2023 | 2:50 PM

COLOMBO (News 1st) - Sri Lanka's Wanindu Hasaranga & Inoka Ranaweera have been listed in the ICC Men's T20I Team of the Year 2022, and the ICC Women's T20I Team of the Year 2022, respectively.

Wanindu Hasaranga:

Wanindu Hasaranga continued to be Sri Lanka's talisman in a year where they reigned supreme as the champions of the Asia Cup. He picked up nine crucial wickets in six games at the Asia Cup but at the same time, showed that he can do the damage with the bat, stroking a brilliant 27-ball 37 in the final against Pakistan to rescue his side.

The wrist-spinner weaved his magic at the T20 World Cup as well, picking up 15 wickets in eight games.

In addition to Wanindu, the ICC Men's T20I Team of the Year 2022 features England's Jos Buttler (c,wk), Pakistan's Mohammad Rizwan, India's Virat Kohli, India's Suryakumar Yadav, New Zealand's Glenn Phillips, Zimbabwe's Sikandar Raza, India's Hardik Pandya, England's Sam Curran, Pakistan's Haris Rauf, and Ireland's Josh Little.

Inoka Ranaweera: 

Sri Lanka’s left-arm orthodox spinner Inoka Ranaweera had a spectacular year with the ball, finishing with 27 wickets in 19 T20Is, while averaging 13.85 with the ball and conceding runs at an economy rate of 5.75.

She took three or more wickets in four of the 19 T20Is she played in the year with a best of 4/7 coming against Bangladesh in the Sylhet in the Women’s Asia Cup. Her effort led Sri Lanka to a three-run victory over Bangladesh in the game.

In addition to Inokae, the ICC Women's T20I Team of the Year 2022 features India's Smriti Mandhana, Australia's Beth Mooney, New Zealand's Sophie Devine (c), Australia's Ash Gardner, Australia's Tahila McGrath, Pakistan's Nida Dar, India's Deepti Sharma, India's Richa Ghosh, England's Sophie Ecclestone, and India's Renuka Singh.