Letter signed requesting Basil to enter Parliament

MPs sign letter requesting Basil Rajapaksa to enter Parliament

by Zulfick Farzan 13-11-2020 | 12:01 PM

Colombo (News 1st); Several MPs have requested Basil Rajapaksa to take up the position of a member of Parliament.

A letter signed by 19 MPs states it is paramount for Basil Rajapaksa to enter Parliament to uplift the country's economy and to provide the SLPP's active contribution to Sri Lanka.

The letter states, it was Basil Rajapaksa who created the political party which managed to secure victory at the Local Government Election, Presidential Election, and the General Election in a short span of four years.

These MPs further state it is impossible to think of a Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna without Basil Rajapaksa.

The letter was signed by Sampath Athukorala, Major Pradeep Uduhoda, Angajan Ramanathan, Cader Masthan, Dr. Upul Galappatti, Ashok Priyantha, Sanjeewa Edirimanne, Sahan Pradeep Vithana, Akila Saliya Ellawala, Nalaka Bandara Kottegoda, Amarakeerthi Athukorala, Wasantha Yapa Bandara, W. D. Weerasinghe, H. Nandasena, Kumarasiri Ratnayake, Major Sudarshana Denipitiya, Rajika Wickremesinghe, Nipuna Ranawaka and Kapila Athukorala.

One SLPP MP said the letter was handed over to Basil Rajapaksa.

State Minister Prasanna Ranaweera strongly believes Basil Rajapaksa must enter parliament adding it was Rajapaksa who created a political party that put forward the President.

Basil Rajapaksa must be given a ministerial position so he can further be involved in the development driver for the people, said the State Minister.

He said the opposition is criticizing such a move because they fear his capabilities.