Minority government awarded majority in Select committee

by Staff Writer 21-11-2018 | 9:09 PM
Colombo (News 1st)  - Amidst the current debate on the procedures and appointments in Parliament, Leader of the house Dinesh Gunawardena has informed Speaker Karu Jayasuriya that he has nominated 7 members for the Parliamentary Committee of Selection. Dinesh Gunawardena, S.B. Dissanayake, Nimal Siripala De Silva, Mahinda Samarasinghe, Wimal Weerawansa, Thilanga Sumathipala and Udaya Gammanpila have been nominated for the select committee. The letter sent by Dinesh Gunawardena to the speaker highlights the fact that previously after the Presidential elections in 2004 and 2015, a majority in the select committee was awarded to the minority government that was in power. He adds that therefore he had nominated members to add up to a majority in the select committee. There are 12 members in the select committee and Dinesh Gunawardena had informed the speaker to notify him if this number needed to be increased.